Skip to content

Elderberry Tincture

September 26, 2012

I mentioned in one of my 33 by 33 updates that I had my first elderberry tincture steeping. I bought some dried elderberries about a month and a half ago and had them steeping in 100 proof vodka. I strained them yesterday and it was perfect timing. Elderberry tincture (or elderberry syrup) is great for shortening the length of a cold or the flu. I’ve had great success with elderberry lozenges that I bought at a local health food store, but there’s something satisfying about making my own “medicine”. Last night my allergies started to creep their way toward a cold and when I got in the kitchen this morning I warmed up some water, put in 1 teaspoon of the tincture and added some honey. Very tasty! Hopefully a few teaspoons today and tomorrow will prevent my allergies from turning into a cold.

Interested in reading more about elderberry tincture? This is the recipe I used: Elderberry Tincture

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jean White permalink
    September 26, 2012 2:53 pm

    Yum, vodka for breakfast….can’t wait to get to Texas!

  2. October 2, 2012 10:04 pm

    i wonder if this is better than making your own elderberry syrup? which one has better results for keeping away the colds. hum. well, i make the syrup if you want the recipe. but i am thinking vodka instead! lol.

  3. October 3, 2012 12:36 pm

    I don’t know if there is a better option between the two. I chose the tincture because it required a bit less work up front and because we had some store-bought pediatric elderberry syrup already, but if I were making it for my kids I would do the syrup.

Leave a Reply

