Skip to content

Love and Cast Iron Skillets

October 23, 2011

Forgive me for being over a month late, but I wanted to share this with you. In mid-September That Daddy and I celebrated our 8 year anniversary. I’ve known That Daddy since I was 15 (we met in high school marching band) and I married him when I was 23. Each year we celebrate by giving gifts that we deem are the gift of the year for the anniversary. This year, the 8th anniversary, was the new mattress year. Unfortunately between the two of us we can only remember 4 years worth of gifts.
1st Anniversary Gift: Closet organizers
6th Anniversary Gift: A trip to Atlanta to watch the Cheifs play the Falcons
7th Anniversary Gift: Vibram Five Finger shoes
8th Anniversary Gift: New (Tempurpedic) mattress
Anyway, they’re not “normal” gifts, but that’s how we are. I’m guessing at this point you’re wondering what any of this has to do with Cast Iron Skillets. I’m getting there (just deal with my pregnant ramblings for a few minutes). Instead of buying That Daddy a card this year I had a brilliant idea for a homemade card. You see, we love our cast iron skillets (and dutch oven). At some point (in my crazy-pregnant brain) I started comparing cast iron skillets and love and that eventually turned into the card I gave That Daddy for our anniversary. Of course I made it the day before and was entirely too excited to wait until our actual anniversary to give it to him.
What did the card say? I’m so glad you asked.
Our love is like a cast iron skillet. Why?
-It’s classic
-It gets better with age
-If you have a good, well seasoned one people are jealous
-Sometimes it needs re-seasoning, but that’s okay. And expected.
-It’s not always the easiest to use, but it’s the best
-One day our kids are going to want what we have
-It makes good bacon
I had a bunch more ideas, but of course they slipped in and out of my mind as quickly as I came up with them. I have texted That Daddy more Cast Iron Skillet wisdom as I’ve thought of it, but those aren’t in front of me (I’ll share them later). Either way, it’s true, our love is like a cast iron skillet.

Photobucket

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2011 12:20 pm

    I love it! Especially the “your kids will want it” and “it makes good bacon”. 🙂

  2. kimberly corder permalink
    October 26, 2011 10:10 pm

    this makes me smile.

Leave a Reply

