Skip to content

Preparing for a VBAC

October 6, 2011

I’m 27 weeks today. Depending on what pregnancy book/website/etc you look at, I’m either at the tail end of the 2nd trimester or the beginning of the 3rd trimester. Either way, I’ve done a lot of thinking about birth over the past 20something weeks. I’ve read Ina Mae’s Guild to Childbirth in full and then I reread a couple of sections. I’m in the midst of both Birthing from Within and The Bradley Method of Childbirth. That Daddy and I have hired a doula (trained birth support for women and families during labor and birth or postpartum). I’m seeing a midwife group that associated with the only local “Baby Friendly” Hospital certified by the World Health Organization. I’m preparing for a VBAC (Vaginal Birth After Cesarean). It’s exciting. And a bit scary because it’s the unknown. H Money’s pregnancy and birth was so completely different because I had so many appointments and everything was medicalized. It wasn’t the way I wanted it, but I was able to let go of my ideal to accept was was needed. This time around I’m excited about my second chance. My art processing H Money’s pregnancy and birth and this pregnancy still isn’t finished, but I have plans for it. I’ve talked with a Bradley Birth instructor and hopefully That Daddy and I will get to do some classes with her. There are still a few things on my mental list that I want to do, but we’re getting there.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

