Skip to content

Grace

October 4, 2011

I hate running late. Hate it. HATE it. I’m not sure why it’s such a stressful thing for me, but it is. I typically run on time for all of the various appointments we have (and honestly, on time for me is at least a few minutes early), but the last few weeks I have had a bunch of “mom-nesia” or “placenta-brain” (either name works). It’s not uncommon for pregnant women to be forgetful, which is fine, but I still hate running late. This morning we were right around 20 minutes late to H-Money’s occupational therapy appointment. Why? I had the correct time in my calendar in my phone. I did not, however, write the correct time on the calendar on the fridge. I’m not sure why I did that, but it happened. I realized right before 9:00 AM that the appointment was set for 9:00 AM and not 9:30. D’Oh! Fortunately, H-Money’s OT was very gracious and we were able to just start therapy late (I called to let them know we were running late as soon as I realized) and we were able to still do the whole hour of therapy because her next patient was running late (maybe it’s in the air today?).
In the car on the way to therapy I had to remind myself to be gracious with me, too. It’s hard to give myself grace sometimes, but also necessary. One of my favorite quotes is, “Grace is for mamas, too.” I’m not sure who to give credit to for saying it originally, but I often have to remind myself that I am allowed to make mistakes.
In other news, I am working on a plan to ensure that I translate appointment times from my phone calendar to the paper calendar correctly since my brain doesn’t always seem to be with it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 5, 2011 9:05 am

    You’re not alone. I hate being late to things too. It’s like I know what time something starts, I get up extra early to get out, but I’m not only working with me. My other adult sometimes needs to get with the program.

    But still, that doesn’t stop me from trying next week to get out there early and on time…which never happens.

Leave a Reply

