Skip to content

Holy Baggage, Batman!

July 9, 2011

So while H Money is napping I decided I would start the “Birth Art” project from Birthing from Within. It may (much like processing) seem a bit “new agey”, but I like making stuff (especially messes) and today seemed to be the day to start. I’m not finished, but I’m heading in the direction I want to. It’s amazing to see all that has been inside of me since H Money’s birth/pregnancy. I’m not overly emotional, but I’m definitely feeling big, huge feelings. I’m teetering on the edge of wanting to keep going with my project, but I’ve pulled back for a few reasons. First, there are a few things I need for it that are in H Money’s room and he’s asleep. I’m not going to prematurely end nap time for a project I can finish later. Second, I’m afraid if I get going I won’t stop and I’ll end up overly emotional because I missed lunch (and I’d probably end up with a hungry 2 year old, too). Third, I need to step back. We were always told to do that in college and I’m pretty sure my professors were right (even the crazy ones). I don’t want to over work the art and end up hating it. So, I rest.
When it’s finished I’ll probably share it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2011 12:51 pm

    Some births just need extra time for processing. I like the art project idea. Are you going to share pics?

    • July 9, 2011 2:28 pm

      Once I finish it I plan to share. I’m not sure when finishing will happen, of course.

  2. kimberly corder permalink
    July 11, 2011 10:22 pm

    share whether you finish or not. share now…

  3. July 19, 2011 10:44 pm

    Hmm, never heard of this but I’m intrigued. Is Birthing from Within a book? Did you study art therapy?

Leave a Reply

