Skip to content

Reading

May 16, 2011

Since I shared about one of my favorite parenting “toolbooks” yesterday, I figured I would share some more today. I’ve done a lot of reading recently and most of the books have related to parenting (minus the entire Harry Potter series that I just reread from start to finish). It’s no secret that I really like the books from the Sears Parenting Library. At last count I have 10 of their books and have read 7 of them (I haven’t read the entire Portable Pediatrician, but I don’t doubt that I’ll reach that point eventually). You could say that I have drank the “Sears Koolaid”, but I don’t know if that is 100% accurate. One of the reasons I like their books so much is that they don’t offer a one size fits all approach to parenting. In The Discipline Book they take the approach of building a connection with your child so that you know your child. Their approach is not adversarial, which I love.
I’m drawn to books that offer a variety of parenting ideas/techniques/options and the encourage the parent to take what works best for them and their family. I think the main reason I’m drawn to that style of parenting books is because of H Money. He’s not a one size fits all kind of kid. He hasn’t been from the start. I like books that encourage me to know my child and where he is developmentally so I can parent effectively.
I have a wonderfully large stack of books in my “To Read” pile. I’m not sure which one I will start once I finish The No-Cry Sleep Solution by Elizabeth Pantley, but I’ll make sure to share with you as I get there!

What parenting books have you enjoyed?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2011 10:02 pm

    Secrets of the Baby Whisperer – Was so helpful as Baby Girl’s sleep schedule was changing and we were adapting (and trying to survive!).

    Baby 411 – Our pediatrician gave us this. I don’t think it is organized very well, but it has alot of good info.

  2. Tot permalink
    May 18, 2011 7:09 pm

    Have you tried any of the Becky Bailey books? You might enjoy some of her “I love you” activities.

  3. May 19, 2011 5:35 pm

    I LOVED Dr. Sears’ The Successful Child (or something to that effect). I had SO many “a-ha” moments.

  4. indianamomma permalink
    May 23, 2011 2:44 pm

    I’m a “Babywise” mama. I always tell expecting parents – it’s not for everyone. You will either love it or hate it, but it worked for us. After babywise, we got by on “babywise 2” and “toddlerwise”. Now I will say “Pottywise” didn’t work out for us, but we are optimistic about “Preschool wise”, “child wise”, and “preteen wise”.

Leave a Reply

