Skip to content

Is this thing on?

May 15, 2011

Hi. I’ve been slack about blogging lately. Really slack. H Money’s 2nd birthday came and we enjoyed the day as a family. I didn’t even take a picture of him (shhhhh, don’t tell!). Then he got sick. It was some yucky stomach bug that let me to cleaning up vomit more than I ever wanted to (not that I even wanted to slightly). He’s on the mend now and is getting back to eating lots of meals a day. I hate seeing him sick, of course. I don’t know if there’s anything worse than a kiddo who is sick and can’t tell you what’s wrong. We didn’t end up taking him to the doctor (though I did call). With a stomach bug that doesn’t cause a fever the only real concern is dehydration and, in spite of the vomiting, H Money kept down enough fluids to remain not-dehydrated. Every time I had a concern I turned to one of my favorite parenting toolbooks, The Portable Pediatrician. Written by the wonderful Dr. Sears, it has been used so many times. Every time I put it back on the bookshelf in the office I find myself pulling it out. I should probably just let it live permanently on the kitchen counter. If you get a chance, you should definitely check it out.

Photobucket

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2011 1:44 pm

    I was just thinking today that I should get a copy of that book. It would save me so many calls to the doctor to ask if we should go in!

  2. May 20, 2011 3:43 pm

    I had almost every Sears book at one point, how could I have missed this one? I must check to see if I can get it on the Nook. If not it’s going on my fall book list.

  3. May 20, 2011 8:07 pm

    Is it the kind of book where you can look up symptoms? That’s what I really need!

    • May 21, 2011 7:38 am

      The index has everything listed multiple ways. Illnesses are listed under the common names and medical names (if different). If you look up “vomiting” it will refer you to other sections depending on the symptoms listed.
      The first part of the book talks about finding the best pediatrician and what normal well baby visits look like. I think it’s a book every parent should have in their toolbox.

Leave a Reply

