Skip to content

Parenting

April 12, 2011

I don’t often talk directly about how That Daddy and I have chosen to parent H Money. Sometimes I stop myself (or just never actually publish what I wrote) because I know that we don’t do things the mainstream way and I don’t want criticism. Mommy Guilt takes care of that enough, as far as I’m concerned. Parenting is such a personal thing, or at least mothering is. I am fully confident of our choices (most days, anyway) and hopefully that communicates through our actions. One of the nicest compliments I have received as a mother came from my niece (she’s my age and has a daughter a year and some change older than H Money) when she told me that I was very confident in my parenting choices. I really, really appreciated that. And sometimes, on tougher days, I may let that compliment soak in again.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2011 11:08 am

    I can understand not wanting criticism. And man, do parents like to judge and criticize other parents! For myself, I don’t mind posting about the things that I am confident in, even the things that my wife and I do that are out of the mainstream. And that’s probably a lot. The thing is, there are always other parents out there that are also out of the mainstream, and they could likely use some reinforcement too. I don’t usually second-guess my parenting choices.

    Of course, nobody is perfect, and I don’t like to be called out on those little short-cuts I take at times. Those things I keep to myself. 😉

    • April 14, 2011 7:39 am

      Some day, when I find the inspiration, I probably will talk about my/our parenting choices. I probably should since this is the closest thing H Money has to a baby book.

Leave a Reply

