Skip to content

That Mama Stuff

April 1, 2011

I was thinking about the stuff that I do that fall into the “I am that mama” category and why I do it. It’s not that I’m on some quest to be SuperMom. Heck no. My motivation for some things, like making H Money’s food, is fiscal. Pureed food/baby food is expensive. Since H Money isn’t self feeding or eating solids yet I can’t imagine the amount of money we would have spent on food if I only bought baby food (and the stuff that I think is worth buying is expensive). Cloth diapering? Part of that is fiscally motivated, part environmentally and part because they’re just cute. Sewing? Same reasons. Homemade gifts have the potential to be more cost effective and they usually are more personal. It also gives me the added benefit of a creative outlet that turns into something useful. Cooking? Well, that’s just different. I don’t take pictures every time we go out to eat or when I enjoy chips and ramen for lunch. I enjoy cooking and there are definite fiscal benefits, too. But it doesn’t always happen. Just like the other things I do. Sometimes H Money gets baby food from the store. Sometimes we use disposable diapers. Sometimes I buy a gift. Sometimes we go out to eat (maybe more than sometimes…).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. kimberly corder permalink
    April 2, 2011 3:22 pm

    i made all of cannon’s food. i buy sutton’s and OMG!!! plum baby, ella’s kitchen are $1.29-$1.79 a pack!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i am spending sooooo much. he is transitioning nicely to solids and eats mostly what we eat but i still supplement with baby food. i saved soooooooooooooooooooooooo much money the first time.

  2. April 3, 2011 9:24 am

    I love the pouches of food (and that’s what I use store-bought), but there’s no way we could do that full time and keep our grocery budget even remotely under control.

Leave a Reply

