Skip to content

Friends

March 17, 2011

Last week I had some friends over for a play date. This may not seem like a big deal since play dates are something stay at home moms tend to do, but we’ve only lived in Texas for a year now. And I have friends.
Let me back up for you. We moved from Missouri to Georgia in 2003 and quickly found ourselves play rummy at the kitchen table, just the two of us. It took us close to a year before we started making friends and by the time we moved (six years later) we had a community in Georgia. It was definitely the hardest reason to leave. Moving to Texas was a great experience and I found myself being more intentional about finding and making new friends. It took a while to develop relationships that would lead to friendships but it’s happening. I still miss our community in Georgia, but I’m starting to see that we have one here and that brings me such joy.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tot permalink
    March 17, 2011 5:20 pm

    So happy to hear someone else has felt this way Jen, thanks for saying it out loud. My closest friend (and the person I hung out with ALL the time) moved to Texas over a year ago. It’s been hard for us too—lots of “playdates” with ourselves. I’m so glad you’re making friends!

  2. March 20, 2011 2:05 pm

    I’m glad you have made some friends, Jen. It’s the hardest thing about the military life, at least for me. I’m getting better at it though. In CA, it took me a long time before I made any friends. Now that we are in NC, I’m like you and have been more intentional about it. Now we are a part of a playgroup and a mom’s group at church. While I haven’t made those friends you can call on for anything just yet, I at least have some adults to be around during the day now.

Leave a Reply

