Skip to content

H Money’s Story

March 15, 2011

H Money was born in May of 2009. My pregnancy was relatively easy in the sense that I didn’t have morning sickness (just the occasional nausea) and I wasn’t put on bed rest. That’s pretty much where “easy” left the picture. When I was about 7 weeks pregnant That Daddy had meningitis and spent a week in the hospital and 4 weeks total off work recovering. It was scary, of course, mostly due to my irrational pregnancy brain that had me thinking all sorts of crazy thoughts. Once he got better all sailed smoothly until the day after we had a gender ultrasound. My Ob/Gyn called to let me know that something didn’t look “right” on the ultrasound and she was referring me to a perinatologist. We saw the perinatologist on December 16, 2008. Their ultrasound tech confirmed that H Money’s brain was growing differently and it appeared he had hydrocephalus. At the recommendation of the doctor I had an amniocentesis which later told us that H Money has a really rare chromosomal mutation. Rare, as in, he’s the 19th reported person with it. We were told he would be non responsive and were offered termination too many times (it makes me feel ill just typing that).
The good news is, he proved them wrong. He is very much responsive. Sure, he has many delays and has had plenty of surgeries, but he’s great. I can’t imagine our family without him. His laughter is wonderful and he’s a total flirt. As our former pediatrician said, “He’s going to give #20 a lot of hope.”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2011 1:38 pm

    I (heart) H Money and your pediatrician was right. God is good.

  2. kimberly corder permalink
    March 28, 2011 9:07 pm

    i did not know he was #19! love the comment about #20!!!!!

Leave a Reply

